Sri Lanka Presidential Elections, Political Churning ahead & Win for China

Colombo Page quoting official results released by the Election Commission of Sri Lanka Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna [SLPP] candidate Gotabhaya Rajapaksa has received 52.25% of the votes and New Democratic Front candidate Sajith Premadasa has received 41.99% of votes. The Gotabhaya has crossed the crucial 50 % mark which would indicate that there is no requirement of a second round/Anura Kumara Dissanayake, the presidential candidate of the National Movement of People's Power has received 3.16% of votes.

Sri Lanka's ruling coalition party candidate, Minister Sajith Premadasa accepted defeat and conceded the presidential election victory and congratulated the Gotabaya Rajapaksa.

"At the conclusion of a hard fought and spirited election campaign, it is my privilege to honour the decision of the people and congratulate Mr. Gotabaya Rajapaksa on his election as the seventh President of Sri Lanka," Sajith Premadasa said in a statement..................

Please or to Read More Entire Article

Related Tags

Article by Same Author

In case you come across any suspicious activity, any suspicious movement or have any information to tell to the Anti-Terror Squad, please take a note of the new ALL INDIA TOLL-FREE Terror Help-line '1090'. Your city's Police or Anti-Terror squad will take action as quickly as possible. Remember that this single number 1090 is valid all over india. This is a toll free number and can be dialled from mobile phones also. Moreover, the identity of the caller will be kept a secret.

Please try to make aware each and every citizen of india about this facility.

Helpline 1090